Home Page

Development Policy and International Relations

The Series of Summits will be convened in Laos

Hun Sen at CLMV summit in Hanoi (AFP)

The series of the 7th Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV) summits, the 6th Cambodia-Laos-Myanmar-Vietnam (CLMV) Summit, and the 5th Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperaiton Strategy (ACMECS) Summit will be convened on 12-13 March 2013 in Vientiane, Laos PDR.

According to the press release of Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Kingdom of Cambodia, during the above said summits, the leaders of CLV will sign the Joint Statement on Strengthening Cooperation in the Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV) Development Triangle, while the CLMV and ACMECS leaders will adopt the following documents:

  • Joint Statement of the 6th CLMV Summit
  • The Vientiane declaration of the 5th ACMECS Summit
  • ACMECS plan of action 2013-2015

Senior officials accompanying the premier Hun Sen are included Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister Hor Namhong, Commerce Minister Cham Prasidh, and also other significant members of the Royal Government of Cambodia, the press release said.


  • Cambodia-Laos-Myanmar-Vietnam (CLMV) Summit:

The CLMV Summit was first conducted in 28th November 2004 in Vientiane, Laos PDR. The Vientiane Declaration was adopted by the CLMV leaders on enhancing economic cooperation and integration among CLMV countries. According to the Vientiane Declaration, there are seven areas of cooperation among CLMV countries as following: trade and investment, agriculture, industry and energy, transport, information technology, tourism and human resource development. The Declaration reflected a strong commitment of CLMV countries to strengthen and enhance cooperation among CLMV countries and promote CLMV integration into cooperation frameworks under the Mekong sub-region, ASEAN and the whole region.

The main objectives of the CLMV cooperation framework are:

– Achieving prosperity in the region through enhanced solidarity, mutual respect and active cooperation among the CLMV countries;
– Fully harnessing enormous economic potentials of the CLMV countries to promote sustainable economic development;
– Uplifting the welfare and quality of life of peoples of the CLMV countries; and
– Accelerating economic integration of the CLMV countries into ASEAN community.

  • Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam (CLV) Summit:

The CLV Summit was first held on 28th November 2004 in Vientiane, Laos PDR. The Cambodia-Laos-Viet Nam Development Triangle Area (CLV-DTA) was jointly established by these three leaders. CLV-DTA is located in the Cambodia-Laos-Vietnam border area, geographically covers the territory of 10 provinces, bordering with or are related to the common border area of the three countries, namely Mondulkiri, Rattanakiri and Stung Treng (Cambodia); Attapeu, Saravan and Se Kong (Laos); and Dak Lak, Dak Nong, Gia Lai and Kon Tum (Vietnam). Under this framework, there are seven areas of cooperation such as: Investment Promotion, Trade facilitation, Cooperation with enterprises Industrial master plan, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises Development, Human resources development, and Rural development.

The main objectives of the CLV Cooperation framework are:

To coordinate the infrastructure development plans of the three countries
To exploit the agricultural, forestry and tourism potentials
To build human resources for the most potential economic sectors in the Development Triangle 
Facilitate the cross-border flows of goods, people and investment capital within the territory of the Development Triangle

  • Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation (ACMECS):

The original four founders of  Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation (ACMECS) are namely Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Thailand which the first Summit was conducted on 12th November 2003 in Bagan, the Union of Myanmar. Nowadays, ACMECS consists of 5 member states which is included Vietnam to the group in 2004. There are eight priority areas of cooperation which are: Trade and Investment Facilitation, Agricultural Cooperation, Industrial and Energy Cooperation, Transport Linkages
Tourism Cooperation, Human Resource Development, Public Health, Environment. 

The main objectives of the ACMECS Cooperation framework are:

– To increase competitiveness and generation greater growth along the borders;
– To facilitate relocation of agricultural and manufacturing industries to areas with comparative advantage;
– To create employment opportunities and reduce income disparity among the four countries;
– To enhance peace, stability and shared prosperity for all in a sustainable manner.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on March 11, 2013 by in Cambodia, News and tagged , , , .
%d bloggers like this: